A taste of Oriental cuisine

Laughter is brightest in the place where the food is.

I read in a book once that starting a blog and writing a blog post here and there is not a big deal, what matters is how regularly you are writing the posts. Sadly, because of my procrastination and laziness, I did not keep it in mind. Even though I started this blog last year, I only have a very few blog posts in my kitty. So I decided to change and be more regular and attentive to my blogging. I felt like trying my hand at food blogging just to see how that feels like. Hope you will like it.

I should warn you people before I dive headfirst into this. I am a foodie. I dream about eating all the time. Peak into my phone sometime when I am surfing internet and you will invariably find me ogling at different types of food on every kind of social platform there is.

A week or two ago, I had gone shopping with my friends Anjali and Namrata. Well they were shopping and I had tagged along, being the jobless person I am. My only motive behind this backbreaking, foot-aching chore was that I will get to eat out again. So, as my friends carried on with their plan for shopping, I searched through zomato for a good restaurant in that area. Since my friends had decided to shop in Maidan area, I thought it was the perfect time to sample the much publicised dishes of The Blue Poppy restaurant headed by Ms Doma Wang.

Directions to The Blue Poppy

This restaurant is hidden away in The Sikkim House in Middleton street. Get down at Maidan by bus or by metro. Make use of that smart phone in your hand and you canlocate the place pretty easily. It’s a 10 minutes walking distance from the main road at most.

dsc07781

As we entered the unassuming Sikkim House, we were quickly showed the entrance of The Blue Poppy by the guards. The restaurant was on the first floor. We only had to wait outside for a couple of minutes before we were welcomed into their restaurant. In terms of decor, it was pretty basic with some lanterns hanging over the tables. We could see that the place was bustling with people. The comforting sounds of the chattering office-goers, friends’ groups, young couples had filled the place up to the brim. Just being there filled me with a warm happy feeling. Since it was a late lunch, we avoided the crowd pleasing appetizers, and directly ordered the stomach filling noodles. The dumplings and chilli pork will have to wait for another time. We ordered Mixed Chilli Garlic Noodles (With Pork), Veg Chilli Garlic Noodles, Mixed Hakka Noodles (Without Pork).

Being the voracious foodie that I am, I had chosen the Mixed Chilli Garlic Noodles for myself as I was in the mood of having something spicy. As we waited, we started our customary photo sessions of selfies and then clicking the decor of the place.

As we waited, we observed the other patrons of the place. There was one couple, who were having a moment of disagreement since the girlfriend was taking too long clicking the perfect picture. I felt for the guy as I know what my friends feel when I take too long in clicking. In the table adjacent to us, were two friends who were having something that looked super red and super spicy. I admit I shamelessly stare at people in restaurant and watch what they are having. It’s one of my annoying habits.

IMG_20180809_141642

Anyway we didn’t have to wait for long. Service was quite fast and the noodles were served piping hot.

Mixed Chilli Garlic Noodles (With Pork)
Mixed Hakka Noodles (Without Pork)
Veg Chilli Garlic Noodles

The first mouthful almost burned my mouth. As I started having more and more, my tongue adjusted to the temperature. I found the noodles seriously underseasoned. Maybe it’s because of my Bengali taste palate and me, being used to bold flavours, I failed to appreciate the subtle flavours of the noodles. I couldn’t even detect any spice in it. I added salt and pepper multiple times to suit my taste. After that it was a joyride. The noodles were perfectly cooked. They use thin noodles here. The amount of chicken, prawn, pork and egg they had served shocked me. Most of the restaurants are economical in this aspect. I was pleasantly surprised that it was not the case here. The quantity was okay though. I expected a bigger quantity when the lady who took our orders claimed that three bowl of noodles for three girls will be too much. She didn’t realize what kind of gluttons we were. The pricing was pretty easy on the pocket such that you can come back again and again without burning a hole.

Thank You. Cheers!!

 

P.S. The closeup shot of the entrance of The Blue Poppy has been taken from Google.

Leave a comment