Priceless things and their memories

There are some things that money can’t buy…Manners, Morals and Integrity.

And there is another thing money cannot buy…the satisfaction of a hard-earned achievement.

I was in Ninth grade then. Though almost all my friends and classmates detested History, I am always been a fan and an enthusiast. And the fact that we had a great history teacher in the name of Mr.Nabendu Bhattacharya helped too. Courtesy Nabendu Sir’s amazing teaching style, I fell in love with history a little more and would always look for a way to improve my knowledge. Then came our assessment tests. Luckily I was among the top scorers of my class and Nabendu Sir gave an Eclair’s chocolate to each of us.

images

I still remember the happiness and intense satisfaction I felt upon receiving it. I felt like my heart is going to explode in pride. I couldn’t wait to run back home and show my parents the Éclair’s. The Éclair’s itself was not a big deal. Who cares about a one-rupee toffee? But the reason I received it was s big deal to me. It was figurative of a small win i had.

images (8)

Sadly my joy turned to despair and hurt when I realized that my little cousin brother had eaten it up when he saw it lying on our dressing table. I couldn’t have been more angry. Even though I knew my brother was too small to understand, I just couldn’t control my anger. Seeing how hurt I was, my aunt offered to buy me another toffee. What she didn’t realize that it was not about the toffee AT ALL. It was what it signified. And it couldn’t be replaced with another Eclairs.

Like that Eclairs, there are many things in life that cannot be replaced, that cannot be put a price on. They are the most valuable things. Those are the things that are really close to our heart. Those are the things that really matter.

Leave a comment