Diving into the Oceans with the: Ocean Grill

Sharing an experience is like sharing a part of your soul. When you share an experience, it is not personal anymore. You give it to the world out there to be read and interpreted according to the mindset of your readers. Today I am going to share my dining experience at one of the most reputed seafood restaurants of the city. Located at a premium location in Saltlake Sector V opposite RDB Boulevard, this restaurant impressed me with their food and hospitality.

The Google location is given below: Location of Ocean Grill

The first thing that will catch will eye is the décor and ambiance. The décor is really unique. There was a bluish tinge all over that gave me a vibe of oceans. There were decorations that will remind you of oceans, like shark tail hanging from the wall or nets. The ceiling lights were enveloped in shades shaped like jelly fish. The place looked exquisite.

The food, however was a different ball game. As there were nine of us, there were a lot of dishes to taste. Almost all the dishes tasted great. So, I will only talk about a few I loved, and a few I liked the least.

Fish Bucket: This was our first starter and the dish truly set the ball rolling. It was the perfect appetizers. The fish was perfectly cooked and very soft while the coating had the right amount of crispiness. The accompaniments were a little disappointed since the salsa was a bit too sweet and had a strong undercurrent of alcohol which didn’t gel well with the fish.

Reshmi Kabab: This was one of the better versions of Reshmi Kabab I have tasted till date. The chicken was so soft and so juicy, I couldn’t help drooling. The smoky flavour was a bit less than expected. But the kabab itself was well prepared, I can very well ignore all those other things. Simply outstanding. If I can, I will go back just to have their Reshmi Kabab. It was unbelievable.

Chili Pork: Chili Pork is my all time favourite starter. I salivate just by he thought of it. And I want my Pork to be spicy. Sadly even though the preparation was perfect, the spice content was a bit low for my liking. Still I would say, it was damn near perfect. The fat-to-meat ratio was very good. The cooking was perfect. In short, it was heavenly.

Moon Fan Fried Rice: In the main course, I loved this the most. The rice was well cooked and there were generous proportion of egg, chicken and pork. But what impressed me the most was the subtle smoky flavour present the rice. It took the simple dish to a whole new level.

Chicken Changezi: This was a little different dish. As a rule, I don’t like sweet taste in my savoury dishes. But this one came as a pleasant surprise. The taste gelled really well with the Mutton Biriyani we had. The taste complimented each other really well.

Profiteroles: I don’t have words to describe how much I like the desserts. We had two desserts and both of them managed to win our heart. Profiteroles are basically cream puffs or filled choux pastries topped with chocolate sauce. The puff was crispy and soft at the same time and had a sweet and moist filling of whipped cream. It was truly delicious and sinful. I can eat a hundred of them even if I have a full stomach.

Tiramisu: They say, the best should be saved for the last and that is what I did because in my humble opinion, the Tiramisu was the hero of our meal. It’s a coffee flavour italian dessert made with mascarpone cheese. I loved the bite of coffee flavour that was present in the dish. It was a gorgeous, rich and sinful dessert aimed to please not only your taste buds but your soul as well.

In a nutshell, though our meal had it’s hits and misses, the hits were definitely more than the misses and the misses can be easily corrected. Below are the pictures of all the other dishes we tasted.

Aside from the food, the hospitality was noteworthy. So, I am sure I will be visiting this place again in the future.

Disclaimer: The Moon Walking was invited to Ocean Grill by the management and did not pay for the meal.

Leave a comment